Our story

Our passion is your next ride.

Since 1989, Argon 18 has brought together a team of people who design, test, build, talk, think, and dream bikes, all driven by the goal of offering the best possible cycling experience to racers and riders of all kinds. Today, we are driven by this idea more than ever. With bikes on the roads, tracks, and trails of more than 70 countries worldwide — and powering professional cycling teams and professional triathletes the world over — Argon 18 has become a benchmark in the international cycling community.

But we don’t just make bikes – we make rides. The ones you remember long after you’ve forgotten the pain and how often you re-calibrated your breaking point. Long after your new best friends gave you their last tube. Long after the beer is gone and the grit washed off. Because at Argon 18, we’re always out there with our riders, finding out how we can make those rides lighter, faster, safer and more memorable for everyone. Because making better bikes isn’t just what we do. It’s who we are.

Our timeline

1989 – Argon 18 bicycle brand founded.

    2001First corporate office opened in Montreal; Argon 18 begins producing carbon fibre frames.

      2005The Gallium, Argon 18’s first monocoque carbon frame, is launched.

        2006Three of our triathletes become World Champions:

        • Samantha McGlone (Ironman 70.3)
        • Torbjørn Sindballe (ITU long distance world championships)
        • Bella Comerford (ITU long distance world championships)

        2008 – The E-114 is launched with the first integrated cockpit on the market, and wins the Eurobike Design Award and The Montreal Institute of Design Award. The ONEness concept is born.

          2008 Two of our triathletes are on the podium at the Ironman World Championship in Kona:

          • Samantha McGlone – 2nd
          • Torbjørn Sindballe – 3rd

          2009We introduce the 3D System, now a key design feature on most of our bikes.

          2012The UCI-Certified E-118 is launched and quickly adopted by the world’s top triathletes and TT specialists.

          2015Argon 18 makes its first appearance at the Tour De France with Team Bora–Argon 18.

          2016Argon 18 co-develops, with the Danish Cycling Federation, the Danish National Track Cycling Team’s bike for the Summer Olympics in Rio. The new Electron Pro is born, and it powers the Danish riders to two bronze medals and a new Olympic Record in the Individual Pursuit for Lasse Norman Hansen.

          2017In their first season with Argon 18, Astana Pro Team riders win big on the new Gallium Pro:

          • Criterium du Dauphiné: GC + 2 stages (Jakob Fuglsang)
          • Tour de France: Stage 12 win + Yellow Jersey for 2 days (Fabio Aru)
          • Vuelta: 3 stage wins (Miguel Angel Lopez [2] + Alexey Lutsenko)

          2018Our first gravel racer, the Dark Matter, is launched.

          2018Argon 18 becomes Official Bicycle Supplier for Cycling Australia. Together with Cycling Australia we begin work on the fastest track bike in the world. At the 2018 Tissot UCI Track Cycling World Cup in Berlin, the Men’s Team Pursuit saw a full podium for the Electron Pro:

          • Gold: Australian Cycling Team
          • Silver: Denmark Cycling Federation
          • Bronze: Cycling Canada
          • Fourth-place team HUUB Wattbike Test Team also rode the Electron Pro.

          2018An incredible season for our athletes:

          • Terenzo Bozzone: 2 Ironman wins (course record in New Zealand – 7:59:57) + 3 Ironman 70.3 wins
          • Heather Jackson: 2 Ironman wins + American record holder from IM Lake Placid 2018
          • Omloop Het Nieuwsblad: Spring Classic victory by Michael Valgren of Astana Pro Team
          • Amstel Gold Race: Spring Classic victory by Michael Valgren of Astana Pro Team
          • Giro d’Italia: Miguel Angel Lopez of Astana Pro Team brings home the White Jersey for Best Young Rider and finishes 3rd overall
          • Vuelta Spain: Miguel Angel Lopez of Astana Pro the takes 3rd position on final podium on his Gallium Pro

          2019Argon 18’s sponsorship of Astana Pro Team comes to an end on a high note as the team finishes the season with 15 World Tour level victories. Over the course of its 3-year partnership with Astana Pro Team, Argon 18 bikes were raced to 85 victories (including Liège-Bastogne-Liège 2019, Critérium du Dauphiné 2017 & 2019, Amstel Gold Race 2018, Itzulia Basque Country 2019, Volta a Catalunya 2019 and 11 Grand Tour stages) and 141 podium finishes in the most prestigious races around the world (including the Giro d’Italia 2018 and the Vuelta a Espana 2018).

          2019At the UCI Track Cycling World Championships in Pruszków, Poland, Cycling Australia’s track team members win six rainbow jerseys on the Electron Pro in the Women’s Team Sprint, Women’s Team Pursuit, Men Team’s Pursuit, Men’s Scratch, Women’s Sprint, Women’s Individual Pursuit and Women’s 25 km points races. Cycling Australia Men’s Team Pursuit ride the Electron Pro to a new Team Pursuit World Record with a time of 3:48.012.

          2020Argon 18 launches our integrated triathlon superbike, the E-119 Tri+ Disc. We also launch our first eBike, the Subito, in both road and gravel versions.

          2021Argon 18 powers riders to six track medals at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics:

          • Gold – Women's Sprint, Kelsey Mitchell, Canada
          • Gold – Men’s Madison, Denmark
          • Silver – Women’s Madison, Denmark
          • Silver – Men’s Team Pursuit, Denmark
          • Bronze – Men’s Team Pursuit, Australia
          • Bronze – Women's Keirin, Lauriane Genest, Canada

          2021 Argon 18 opens our first European office in Lynge, Denmark, in a merger with United Cycling.

          2021Three riders smash records on the Electron Pro: Ashton Lambie set a new world record for the 4km individual pursuit, Joss Lowden breaks the women’s World Hour Record, and Dan Bigham breaks the British Hour Record.

          2022We expand our family of top athletes and becomes official sponsor of Team Novo Nordisk, as well as triathletes Joe Skipper, Ruth Astle and Jannik Schaufler.

          Photo credits:

          • Julien Payette-Tessier
          • Martin Nordmark
          • Eric Lagerstrom
          • Gerd Kohlmus
          • Peter Ebro